Nardi: The Puppy Chronicles Part 1

Nardi is the newest addition to the Larsen family. My husband really wanted a dog and I caved. A friend mentioned to Steven that he had a friend who had puppies that needed homes. After seeing the photos, we fell in love. She’s exactly 2 months and 15 days old today. She’s a mini dapple dachshund.

It’s definitely a challenge getting used to having a dog. I’ve been a cat person for so many years and dogs are just so different. I think I’ll always be more of a cat person than a dog person. They’re low maintenance, independent and less destructive.

Nardi has been with us now since Wednesday, July 17th. Her and her sister were driven down here from Dallas; thanks to Krista’s (my boss) sister. Nardi’s sister, now named Luna, is my coworkers puppy. Nardi cried for quite a bit on the drive home after the first day. The second day went better because I was able to bring her to work with me and Luna was there too. They had so much fun playing together and sleeping in the kennel with each other. Definitely was a lot of sisterly love going on. She did however, cry most of the drive home that day because she missed her sister.

Yesterday Nardi had her first vet appointment. She got another distemper shot, got on the puppy plan and got a shot for the tape worm she had. She has a few fleas but nothing too terrible. Her current weight is 4.2 pounds. Her sister, Luna, weighs 5.4 pounds. Luckily after we got home from the appointment, she ended up passing the worm. Steven thought it was gross and almost puked but it’s nothing new to me.

Currently she has been asleep on the couch, wrapped in a blanket for a little over 2.5 hours! She got a flea bath today and was moving around like crazy afterwards. I decided to throw the blanket in the dryer for a bit and when I put her in it, she just passed out. It was so cute.

She is an adorable little puppy, we just have to keep working on her potty training because she constantly poops inside the house. Also, after my neighbors chihuahua scared her, she hates going outside now to pee. Hopefully when she awakes from her nap, she’ll be good and ready to pee outside.

Hope you all enjoyed my post!!

2 thoughts on “Nardi: The Puppy Chronicles Part 1

  1. Nardi is a beauty. Great that she has her sister to hang with too. I’ve 2 daxies, Archie (black & tan) and Brewster (red) they are brothers and LOVE one another. Dachshunds rock, she’ll make you so happy,

Leave a Reply

