Big Step

Yesterday I took a big step in my life and started working out again. I’m going to try to keep up with this because I usually last a few days and then start back up with the laziness. Last night I got home from work and the handsome husband of mine made dinner which was a package of birds eye viola with chicken, carrots, broccoli, pasta, a light sauce and some corn. We had that and then waited awhile to let it digest before we started working out.

We did:

  • 20 situps (which was a struggle for me cause I haven’t done situps since High School)
  • 20 Squats
  • Pushups (which I attempted but since I don’t have any upper body strength anymore, I only did about 5).
  • Stretching 
  • Running
  • Walking

I was definitely exhaust afterwards but it felt good. I was mad at myself most of the time we were running cause I feel like I’ve just let myself go. It’s depressing at times but I know I need to start doing something now. Plus with a wedding in the future, I want to look my best.

Once we got back I made some smoothies. The first one I made was strawberry banana. I used:

  • 2 bananas
  • 1 1/2 cups of strawberries
  • 1/4 cup of milk
  • 6oz of Greek yogurt

The second smoothie I made so I wouldn’t have to make one in the morning. It’s called a chunky monkey smoothie and I used:

  • 3 Bananas
  • 1 cup of strawberries (extra flavor)
  • 2 Tbsp Peanut butter (I doubled the recipe so I could have some after my workout)
  • 2 cups of Dark Chocolate Almond Milk

I definitely have to say that the second smoothie was not my favorite. I liked the strawberry banana one but the greek yogurt made it really thick. I’ll have to check out some other recipes to perfect it more. My friend Sonny just told me to mix a bunch of fruits and veggies together and call it a day. 

Moving on. Yesterday my eating plan was a little off but today I did much better.

Yesterday:

  • Breakfast: Brown Sugar Cinnamon Poptarts
  • 1 Bottle of Water
  • Snack: 1 Cup of Grapes
  • Lunch: Roast Beef sandwich-mustard-lettuce-half of an avocado-pepperjack cheese
  • Small bag of Funyuns
  • 1 can of Mountain Dew
  • 1 Bottle of Water
  • Snack: 2 Small packs of fruit snacks
  • Dinner: Birds eye Viola Three Cheese Chicken
  • Strawberry Banana Smoothie (after workout)
  • 1 Potato skin (at least it was just one)

Today:

  • Breakfast: Two scrambled eggs on a healthy english muffin sliced in half and chunky monkey smoothie.
  • 1 Bottle of Water
  • Snack: 1 cup of grapes
  • Snack: 1 cup(ish) of Pretzel Crisps
  • Lunch: Roast Beef Sandwich-mustard-pepperjack cheese-lettuce
  • 1 Bottle of Water
  • Dinner: Salad-cucumber-tomatoes-carrots, 1 serving of Sweet Potato fries and some edamame.
  • 1 Bottle of Water
  • 2 Fruit Popsicles (40 calories each!)

I’d say I definitely did better today. Who knew being healthy was so expensive! I spent $60 the other day and I’m almost out of fruit and I ran out of lettuce and avocado. Boo! Luckily Steven’s parents told him about this store called Sprouts. It’s pretty much like an indoor farmer’s market. I’m pretty excited to go check it out! Plus they said that they are pretty reasonable on pricing. I just really want to be able to get some good produce without paying an arm and a leg. But then again, anything good for you is going to cost a lot. That’s why so many people get fast food, it’s super cheap! Which I haven’t had fast food in maybe a full week? I’m slowly…..s…l…o…w…l…y…starting to wean myself off of soda. It’s hard!! I love Mountain Dew. I’m making it a mission to at least get down to drinking one soda a day instead of 3-4 like what I was normally drinking. Hopefully I can just keep with this because I want to look amazing on our wedding day and in my engagement photos. I don’t want to look back and be like “omg who is that cow??? how could I let this happen?”.

So tonight I went out and ran without Steven being here. It’s a little weird to not have someone telling me “ok..we’re going to run from here to here”. I tried to run as long as I could before stopping and walking. I think I ran 3 times and walked about 2 laps around the complex before quitting tonight. My leg muscles were starting to lock up pretty bad and my feet were hurting so I noticed I was walking weird. I’m going to go back at it tomorrow night and if my legs still hurt, maybe do some more walking and ease my way into running more.

I shall say farewell, until tomorrow. Night Everyone!!

Leave a Reply

