On the health food kick!

Lately I’ve been seeing a lot of blogs and Facebook posts about eating healthier and losing weight. One blog post in particular got me wanting to get some healthier foods. Her name is Natasha and here’s her blog. Back in 2011 she weighed 177 (I wish I weighed that lol) and now she weighs 122 just from working out and eating better. I’m trying to motivate myself into eating better and trying to lose weight because since I moved to Texas, I have done nothing but slowly gain weight. It’s rather sad actually. The lowest I ever remember being was around 186 pounds and that was when I was in 8th grade.

Hopefully by posting more, I can hold myself accountable and actually succeed in losing weight. I’m starting out slow by cutting out as much soda as possible from my diet. Normally I’d have about 3-4 sodas a day. I’m going to start by just drinking 1 soda a day and start trying to drink as much water as I can. I’m not fully cutting soda out just yet because I don’t want to crash pretty much.

Next step for me is to start working out. I’m either going to start by walking around my complex each day or try running. My husband used to run all the time in the Army so hopefully he’ll be able to get me into running. I know walking/running a short distance isn’t a lot but for someone who hasn’t really worked out in years, it’s big. There might be days when I don’t feel like running and I’ll most likely get out on my road bike and try to do 20 miles. Just something to get me out and active will be good.

One thing I did last night after looking at Natasha’s blog was head to the grocery store and get some fruits and veggies. Here’s what I got:

  • 2 ears of corn
  • 1 cucumber
  • 1 avocado
  • 1 bag of salad mix (romaine)
  • 1 small lemon
  • 3 apples
  • 2 bunches of bananas
  • 2 containers of greek yogurt
  • 1 container of strawberries
  • 1 container of blueberries
  • 1 container of cherry tomatoes
  • 1 bag of grapes
  • 1 bag of petite carrots
  • 1 bag of white onions
  • 12 dozen eggs
  • 1 package of healthy english muffins
  • 2 boxes of edamame
  • 1 bag of sweet potato fries
  • 2 bags of steamfresh veggies
  • 1 bag of pretzel crisps

Last night for dinner I ended up baking chicken breasts. I dipped them in egg and then garlic and herb bread crumbs and placed them in a pyrex baking dish and put them in the oven. After a bit of cooking, I squirted half of the lemon juice on them and back in the over they went. While they were cooking I started on my salad. I used half of a bag of romaine lettuce, half of a cucumber, some cherry tomatoes, some petite carrots and then on mine I threw on half of an avocado and a smidge of pepper jack cheese. For another side, I cooked one of the steamfresh bags: Asian Medley. It contains carrots, baby corn, snap peas and broccoli. Once the chicken was fully cooked, I squirted the other half of the lemon on top. Dinner was absolutely amazing. I’m not sure that it was 100% healthy but it’s a lot healthier than going out and eating fast food. So I’d say I did pretty good with dinner.

If I ever get brave enough, I’ll post a progress picture. Until then, I will try to post as much as possible and post what I have eaten for the day. If anyone has any tips please feel free to leave a comment below.

Leave a Reply

