Baby, Beer and Boyfriend – Guest Post

My lovely friend Danielle wanted to share with you all a poem she wrote and a lovely little guest blog post. Hope you all enjoy!!!

So life can really suck sometimes. We all know it. We’ve all been through it. But honestly, the way to really get through the hard times, is to think about the positives CONSISTENTLY! No breaks, no pauses, nothing. I know personally how tough that can be sometimes, especially when life has decided to repeatedly kick me in the face like a pissed off donkey for the last couple years. And I messed up many times, like so many of us have, and let myself mope and threw the biggest and baddest pity party y’all have ever seen! But guess where that got me? NOWHERE! So then I decided to take life by the hypothetical reins, and steer that wild mustang exactly where I wanted it to go. It was a pretty slow process, but karma began to come through for me. I lost a lot materialistically, but seriously, who needs stuff when you have the best love and support anyone could ask for? I have got the BEST friends a girl could ever dream of, the sweetest, most amazingly chill daughter that has been the light of my life since I found out she was growing in my womb, and a kick ass boyfriend and Father of my baby girl that stands behind us in every moment of every day. I am BLESSED y’all, and all because I chose to make it that way, and because our gracious God in heaven showered me with all of the tools necessary to do so. So guess what? Get up off y’alls asses, mount that horse, and keep on getting back on every time it kicks you off. Eventually it’ll be broken in, tamed, and the best damn friend you’ll have for life. I wrote a pretty simple poem about my struggles through pregnancy, and as a mom, and I wanted to share it with the world to empower other new Mommies and even those without children to think positively, and be flexible enough to grow and change and flow through life’s every turn without stopping for air. Because you CAN DO IT! Hope y’all enjoy.

Sincerely,
Your Southern Belle

P.S. If I get TOO close to fallin off the proverbial wagon of positive thinking, I sit on down and pop open an ice cold beer. I prefer Bud Light Platinums (or platties as we call them), but whatever wets your whistle will work! Relax, piece your thoughts together one by one, and then get up and try it again!

 

Now here’s a little poem I wrote:

A Baby Story

Nine months can seem
Like so long a time
Anxiety rising, body shaking
But still saying all will be fine.

Another month rolls by
And yet it still hasn’t set in
But ugly thoughts cross your mind
How will I raise this kid?

Single mother, it seems
But still hoping and praying
That you’ll be able to make it
And raise this little baby.

Now I’m at month four
And trying my best to keep it together
But I’m too scared and lonely
And stuck with this decision forever.

Month five comes along
And I’m starting to see the light
Yeah, I’ll be a single mom
But I’m going to do it right.

Who needs a man
When you have the support of friends
Those willing to help you
Until the very end.

Oh yes, I was a lucky girl
But then made some rash decisions
That cursed me for the next year
‘Cause I didn’t listen to my friend’s opinions.

So I was at month eight
Fed up with the gypsy style
Trying to settle down in life
And prepare my newborn child.

Finally I thought
I was in a positive place
But I made a bad choice once again
And life slapped me in the face.

So here I was
Single Mommy of one
All alone again
And constantly on the run

Working ten hour shifts
Six days in a row
And repeatedly asking myself
Why didn’t I just say no.

But then just when I thought
Things couldn’t get much worse
I finally opened up
And let Loralei’s Daddy know of her birth.

Soon enough blessings came
One by one showered over me
And we were offered a new life
That would be the key.

A key to a bright future
For Loralei and I
And a wonderful relationship
With an amazing guy.

And this is how
It finally ends
Happily Ever After
Hugs, Kisses and Grins.

Leave a Reply

