To Kansas or Bust! Part 1

I’m finally getting around to writing about my trip out to Cali and the drive to Kansas to see my love.

I left Houston bright and early Friday morning (October 12th) at 6:30am. My friend Jose was gracious enough to take me but almost made me late for my flight. Luckily, I was able to get through security fast and jump on my plane. Before flying, I always have to take dramamine. I took 3 before I even left Jose’s house. Let’s just say, I was knocked out for the entire flight to Denver, CO. Once I arrived in Denver, I hustled over to my next gate thinking that the plane was about to leave since my flight was late getting in but I wasn’t. I took 2 more dramamine and waited to board the flight. Just so you know, you can take like 6-8 dramamine within a 24 hour period, don’t worry. Anyway, Denver felt amazing! I was pretty much the only person in the airport wearing flip flops and a t-shirt. Wimps! I had just enough time to talk to my honey before boarding the flight. Sadly, the flight was delayed about 30 minutes because the train broke down and we had to wait for about 20 passengers to get to the plane before we could leave. I touched down in Sacramento, CA at about 10:30am. My friend Jeremy was there to pick me up once I got off the plane.

Now begins my California adventure!

Jeremy and I had about 2 hours or so to kill before my friend Nate was off work. We ended up going back to his house and hanging out with his brother till it was time to go to lunch. I couldn’t stop laughing because Lee was telling me that I needed to help Jeremy get some better clothes so he could attract the ladies. *wink* Of course I told him I would try my best. HaHa. Around 12:30pm we headed over to In-N-Out to meet up with Nate – ItSuperPanda. Lunch was fantastic!! Jeremy paid for me (thanks!) and Nate decided to Vlog the entire time! Thank god he didn’t get video of me eating or anything. It was awesome finally being able to meet my friend in person. I think I’ve been friends with Nate for about a year and a half now? I’m not 100% sure but this was my first time meeting him in person and I’d have to say, he’s just as crazy in person as he is on skype. o.O Next we went over to Arden Fair Mall to go get Jeremy some new clothes (giggles) and just hang out since I didn’t plan on leaving Sacramento till about 3pm anyway. The mall trip was definitely interesting. Nate walked around being goofy the entire time and I ended up videoing him talking like Russell Brand and then super crazy Asian man. Here’s the Video he made if you’d like to view it. You’ll definitely get some good laughs!

http://youtu.be/S5ly-KQGZ98

To our surprise, Jeremy actually got two shirts! One I approved of and another eh. But he’s a guy, what can you do. We left the inside of the mall and went outside to hangout for a bit and take ridiculous photos. Here are the ones we took….brace yourself!


Sadly our time came to an end and Jeremy and I said goodbye to Nate. We got on the freeway and headed over to my parents house. We got to my parents house around 5:30 and we said goodbye. My parents were excited to see me and I was excited to be there. My dad was in the process of grilling some steak kabobs. Dinner was delicious and we relaxed the rest of the night. Almost forgot to mention that my hoodie arrived at my mom’s house the day before I got there. I am in love with it!!

Saturday morning I woke up at my normal time of 6am (4am Cali time) and chatted with my honey for a bit and then decided to curl my hair.

My dad woke up and we talked for a bit and he told me how no one ever wants to go with him to breakfast. We packed up in the volvo and drove to Perko’s Cafe for breakfast.

Once we got back to the house, I had about an hour and a half to kill before my nail appointment. My mom was sweet enough to make a nail appointment for me to get a mani and pedi. Thanks mom!! Here’s how my nails looked:

We had about 3 hours to kill before we had to go pick up 8 pizzas from Papa Murphy’s for the birthday gathering at my uncles house. So I snapped a few pictures to pass the time.

We packed up and went to my uncles house to celebrate his birthday along with my cousin JT’s birthday. It was nice being around the family again, minus the whole 100 questions that got thrown at me about my relationship with Steven. What can you do though? It’s family.

Hanging out with the family was fun. We left around 8pm and headed back to the house. My best friend Emily decided to head on over so she could at least spend a few hours with me before I had to leave to go to Kansas. I was super happy to get to see her since it had been a year since I was last back there.

Even though we only got to hang out for a couple of hours, it was still awesome. I love my best friend!

Sunday morning I got up bright and early and we headed out to Hollister, California to go to Casa de Fruta. I wanted to pick up a few bottles of wine to take back with me since it’s so yummy. We stayed at Casa de Fruta for a couple of hours and enjoyed a wine tasting. I had pomegranate, blackberry and plum. Mom had blackberry and apricot and dad had the same as me. My favorites are pomegranate and apricot.

One thing I made sure to grab before leaving Casa de Fruta was a pound (almost) of chocolate covered gummy bears! Can you say good memory or what?! When Steven and I first started talking he told me that his favorite candy was chocolate covered gummy bears. Since then I have been on a mission to find some. Luckily dad spotted the boxed ones while we were in the candy store and then I found the bulk ones. I couldn’t pass up on a pound even though they were $13/pound. He’s totally worth it. So all in all I brought back 3 bottles of wine (1 pomegranate and 2 apricot) and a pound of chocolate gummy bears.

After a quick stop at costco, we made it back to the house. We all had some lunch and just relaxed for awhile. Then mom and I packed up into the corolla and headed to granny’s house to pick her up and then over to my aunt Sabrina’s house to visit her. It was fun visiting. We taught granny how to use an ipad and enjoyed finding recipes on pinterest for yummy foods. Probably one of the best things that happened was Buster falling asleep in my arms. He’s so cute and cuddly.

Hanging out with my aunt and grandma was fun. We ended up having a small dinner consisting of pigs in a blanket aka hotdogs rolled up in croissant rolls. Then we dropped granny off at home and headed back to the house.

Sunday evening Tyler got back from his church trip he went on and was dropped off at mom and dad’s. I got to visit with him for awhile and even invited him to go with Jen and me to walmart so I could get some snacks and drinks for the trip to Kansas and home. It was awesome getting to see Jen. We have had our rough patches in the past but have still managed to be good friends. I had not seen her since probably 2007. Yes, it’s been that long. We hung out for a bit and got some things at walmart and then sadly had to drop her off and head to Tyler’s apartment to get his stuff. We headed back to mom’s house and hung out for a bit before I ended up going to bed.

Monday and the start of my road trip will be continued in another post. Stay tuned!!

Leave a Reply

