My Heart Skips Skips a Beat

How soon is too soon to find new love after a relationship? Yes, Blake and I broke up last Monday but really it felt like we had been roommates since May. Sometimes you have to make tough decisions and ask yourself, “Do you want to spend the rest your life with this person?”. Sadly in May, I made the decision. Why it took me so long to actually say something…I was scared. I was afraid that all hell would break loose and my car would be taken from me or worse. It’s hard for me to talk about this but one of my first relationships was with a guy who cheated on me numerous times, threw glasses at me, told me I had to act and dress a certain way and made me feel ugly almost everyday that I was with him. He also abused my cat and was verbally abusive to me. I know that Blake would not have laid a hand on me but after going through a crap relationship like my first one, you can never fully be sure that it won’t happen again. Yes, I think Craig damaged me. I’ve made such great progress since that horrible time from 2005-2007. I’ve been able to open my heart up again and learn to trust. Yeah, there are still things to be worked on like my self esteem. Hopefully later on down the road I will better myself and realize that I’m beautiful just the way I am.

Luckily for me, I’ve found someone that makes me feel amazing. I know everyone is going to judge and have their opinion but you know what, it’s my life and if I want to start seeing people, then I can and I will. That certain someone makes me feel pretty much like I’m on top of the world. He takes my breath away and likes me for me. I know this is true because honestly, I don’t put a front on when I’m around people. I act like myself no matter what. I’m not one of those people to act totally different around people I don’t know. It’s called being yourself and that’s what I do. If people can’t accept how you are, then they don’t deserve you. I always thought it was funny to see girls and guys act 100% different just to get a guy/girl. Then later on down the road, they show their true colors and the relationship fails. Relationships run on being honest, having trust, faith and love. If you take away some of those then it’s just going to crumble.

What’s amazing to me is that it’s actually been a long time since I’ve felt this loved. He makes me feel so good about myself and I couldn’t be happier. The last couple of days I’ve been lucky enough to talk to him on the phone for hours. Sunday night we talked for two hours and then last night we talked for 5 hours. Luckily, we both have AT&T so we have free mobile to mobile. If not, our phone bills would be through the roof! Haha.

I’m super giggly while I’m writing this post. I feel like I’m on cloud nine right now and it’s amazing!!!! I couldn’t be happier with how my life is right now. I’m managing my apartment on my own, my bills and I have a totally awesome guy who’s into me. I could not be happier!!

My heart skips skips skips, skips skips skips a beat

[Verse 1]
I can see you’re not yourself
Even when you’re here with me
I know that you so well

So put another record on
Kiss and leave me on
Nothing really matters when we’re dancing
Listen to the same sad song playing on repeat
Cause every time we come this close,
My heart skips, skips a beat

[Chorus]
So come on, spin me around
I don’t wanna go home
Cause when you hold me like this
You know my heart skips, skips a beat
I know I should, but I can’t leave it alone
And when you hold me like this
That’s when my heart skips, skips a beat
Oh oh oh, oh oh oh, oh oh oh
Oh oh oh! oh oh oh!

[Verse 2]
So hung up, we can’t let go
If you really have to leave
One more time just move me slow
So put another record on
Play it on repeat
Nothing really matters when we’re dancing
Cause all you ever need to know
Is what you do to me
That every time you hold me close
My heart skips, skips a beat

[Chorus]
So come on, spin me around
I don’t wanna go home
Cause when you hold me like this
You know my heart skips, skips a beat
I know I should, but I can’t leave it alone
And when you hold me like this
That’s when my heart skips, skips a beat
Oh oh oh, oh oh oh, oh oh oh
Oh oh oh! oh oh oh!

[Rizzle Kicks]
Rizzle Kicks yeah
I just thought and I was like, let’s have a ting-toy
Playing with this … inside, not like before
The flaps keep going up and down like a see-saw
I shoulda just taken her to the cinema to see Saw
Would she let me sit with her, I figured
Her figure’s a sure sure winner
Cause I got a lead from the back, I’ma skip her
My heart skips, skips, skips, skips, skips, skips a beat

[Chorus]
So come on, spin me around
I don’t wanna go home
Cause when you hold me like this
You know my heart skips, skips a beat
I know I should, but I can’t leave it alone
And when you hold me like this
That’s when my heart skips, skips a beat
Oh oh oh, oh oh oh, oh oh oh
Oh oh oh! oh oh oh!

My heart skips, skips a beat

 

Leave a Reply

